It’s About You, The Employer

Closing the dealA successful job search isn’t about me. It’s about you, the employer, and your needs. So let me explain what I can do for you and your organization. Here’s what I offer:

Strategic Planner – No matter how limited your budget, a good communications plan incorporates as many channels as your audience needs to discover the message. Planning is a simple process that can be done very quickly in times of crisis or very intensive when the issues are complex. Solid research, measurable goals, a proven strategy with creative tactics will bring the credible results you need to show the value of your investment in communications and public relations

Team Leader and Mentor – Energizing and motivating creative people to do their best requires a deft touch. I give people the freedom and the authority to do their best work while holding them accountable for project milestones. My leadership led the Michigan Department of Natural Resources Parks and Recreation Marketing Innovations Team to a 2006 Director’s Award. More importantly, this team changed the culture of the division. As a supervisor, I hire for attitude first and skills second. I build a team that is balanced and diverse in skills and abilities, and I keep them motivated toward the same goals. We are a productive unit that contributes to the bottom line.

Strong Writing – Press releases, news stories, feature-length magazine articles, Q&A’s, project proposals, website copy, white papers, speeches and PowerPoint presentations – I’ve done them all. At the heart of all good communication is a versatile writer who can adapt her style to match the medium and the speaker. I get it right, right now, which saves you time and money.

Social Media and Web Savvy – I’ve helped state agencies in Michigan and Florida integrate social media outreach into their communication strategies and developed policies that help organizations use these mediums to further their business goals. As scary as it is for some organizations, using social media is still about finding a cost-effective way to communicate with your key audiences and keep the communication loop moving. Email newsletters, blogs, websites, mobile apps and more are changing the tactics of communications. I can help you use these tools in strategic ways.

Media Trainer and Spokesperson – Speaking in the unique language of a sound bite is not as easy as it looks. I’ve done it, and done it well. Helping to craft your message into something that gets used is the goal. I’ve helped executives and high level managers be the voice and face of an agency too. In fact, I prefer to let your employees show their passion and dedication to their work by learning how to work with the media.

Strong National Media Network – Reporters like to work with me because I respect their role, try to meet their deadlines and don’t hide behind complicated jargon. In the ever shifting world of modern journalism, I keep in touch with reporters and bloggers on the move. I’ve worked with student reporters learning how to put stories together and reporters and columnists from The New York Times, producers from Fox News and editors from international publications.

Are you intrigued? Do you have a need for a communicator? Check out my LinkedIn profile  or send me an email at cgsteinman@gmail.com. Let’s talk about what I can do for you.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.